1946 Australian Florin

  • Description
  • Reviews (0)


The Australian pre-decimal era refers to the period between 1901 and  1965, however for the purposes of Australian currency effectively relate to coins minted between 1910 and 1964.

(ie. between federation and decimalisation).

The six British colonies in Australia were declared an independent nation in 1901, (federation), ‘The Commonwealth of Australia’, although remained part of the British Empire, as a Constitutional Monarchy.

Prior to this, Australian coins and notes were a collection of currencies from around the world, however by this point were primarily British. The first coins produced specifically for The Commonwealth of Australia,

(threepence, sixpence, shilling, florin), were minted in 1910 in London, although the Australian halfpenny and penny were not minted until 1911.


The King George VI era Australian florin obverse features the bare head of George VI, facing left.  The reverse shows the new Australian Coat of Arms with a kangaroo to the left, emu to the right, and the royal crown

above. The word ‘FLORIN’ is above, and the date and word ‘AUSTRALIA’ below.

The Australian florin obverse features the bare head of King George VI facing left, with the surrounding legend: ‘GEORGIVS VI D:G:BR:OMN:REX F:D:IND:IMP.’ On the reverse a kangaroo and an emu stand

either side of a shield, with representations of the 6 states.  Above the shield is the word ‘FLORIN’, and the royal crown.  Below is the date, and the word ‘AUSTRALIA’.  In the fields are golden wattle branches.




1946 Australian Florin Specifications
Monarch King George VI
Edge Reeded
Weight 11.31 grams
Diameter 28.5 mm
Composition 50% silver, 40% copper, 5% nickel, 5% zinc
Minted Melbourne, Australia
Mintage approx. 23,222,000
Scarcity readily available in low to mid grades


1946 Australian Florin Design
Obverse Thomas H. Paget
Reverse George Kruger Gray


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.